COFFEE BREAK with… Amy Carleton, Personal Assistant - Medical

Coffee Break with… is a Christie & Co series showcasing the brilliance, expertise, and diversity of our network of over 200 employees.


When did you join Christie & Co?
I started on 18 July 2011 as a Team Assistant to Corporate Hotels.

Where were you when you accepted your role at Christie & Co?
At lunch with a friend in Camden!

What was your first job?
My first paid job was back when I was 17. I worked as an apprentice window dresser and balloon artist (no, before you ask, not balloon dogs!!). I created things like full size bride and grooms, balloons arches, table arrangements for weddings. Really fun job, I loved it!

In a couple of sentences, can you tell us a bit about your job at Christie & Co?
I am a PA to Simon Hughes and team support to the medical sector.

What’s your favourite thing about Christie & Co?
The people and working with my team - we have a laugh!

What’s been the biggest challenge of your career so far?
The biggest challenge for me has been working through the furlough period. It was an unsettling time for all of us but we pulled together and have made it to the other side, thankfully!

What’s been a highlight of your career so far?
Winning the Jeremy Hill award. This meant a lot to me as it was Jeremy Hill who employed me.

Tell us a bit about your life outside work – what are your hobbies?
I love walking, dancing, listening to music, eating great food, socialising with friends and family, spending time with my husband and my lovely cats, painting, drawing, anything to do with arts & crafts, actually. I could go on and on!

What’s your hometown? Where do you live now?
I was born and raised in High Barnet, North London, but I moved to Enfield about seven years ago now.

Where’s the best place you’ve been on holiday?
Costa Rica, closely followed by Nicaragua and then Peru!

What’s your biggest pet peeve?
People who don’t have any manners. A simple please and thank you goes a long way.

If you could live and work in any city, where would you go?
Any city in Spain will do me! I love Spain and hope to live there one day… retired, of course!

What would be your desert island meal?
A good old fashioned roast dinner with loads of Yorkshires and gravy.

What’s your favourite film?
The Outsiders or Dirty Dancing, I love them both equally!

What is your favourite movie quote?
“Nobody puts Baby in a corner.” – Dirty Dancing

What is one thing on your bucket list?
To stay healthy and happy with my husband and retire to Spain by the time I am 50!

What is your biggest fear?
Not retiring by the time I am 50, ha!

What news source do you read every day?
BBC News.

What’s your social media platform of choice?